Sailing Weekend Plans 5/19/2012-5/20/2012

This Saturday I’ll be heading down to HYC (Hampton Yacht Club) to rejoin the C&C 99 Kingfisher as bowman for the Cape Henry Cup.  This is basically a 30 nm distance race around the Southern Chesapeake Bay.  Should be fun though.

Looking to use some of the practice from the Wednesday for this regatta.  As soon as I get on the boat I’m going to be setting up things how I like them and communicating about the expected course and wind direction so I can be prepared as soon as possible.  As bowman I won’t be able to help out with strategy as much as I’d like, but I really need to focus on getting the mechanics down before I move on.

This Sunday I’ll be heading up to FBYC (Fishing Bay Yacht Club) to join the J/109 Afterthought for the FBYC spring series.  Hoping for some valuable experience on board this asymmetric chute boat.  Also hoping to make good some connections there so as to solidify my sailing future, especially a potential one design future. FBYC has a fleet of J105s.

Leave a Reply

